top of page
  • Writer's pictureRussell D. Ward

Penetrate Hearts to Change Lives

Updated: Jun 4

Story telling can change people’s mind, heart and life.  Most speakers spend the bulk of their presentation communicating raw data. Stories help bring the raw data to life.  


Tips to good story telling:

Be authentic – talk from your heart

Don’t bore by taking too long to tell a story

Create an experience

Practice, practice, practice to convey the story well

Tell the right story for the right situation

·    

Examples of classic and modern stories that can make an impression on your audience.


The Father and His Quarreling Sons


A father had two sons that constantly bickered. Finally, he asked them to bring him a bundle of sticks. He challenged each son to break the bundle over their knee, which they found impossible. He then split the bundle and showed how each individual stick could easily be broken. He said, "United you are strong; quarrelling and separated - you are weak."


Laugh at Yourself and Others Will Laugh with You


Several years back, I was asked to give a speech to a room full of budding women entrepreneurs. I arrived at the event with a terrific speech, looking quite stunning in my navy blue suit. Just before my speech began, I looked down at my shoes to see that I had one blue and one black shoe on. At first, I was embarrassed – but spontaneously decided to put it in the speech.


At the end of the speech, I reached down, took off my shoes and put them up on the podium for all to see. I reminded the listeners that every one of us is working hard to balance it all. Sometimes we get it all right, but we still don't manage to put on a matching pair of shoes! It was the greatest laugh I have ever gotten. Vicki Donlan, Author Her Turn: Why it's Time for Women to Lead in America 


The Men’s Room


I was asked to give a speech on marketing to a group of contractors. They met in a divey bar. I noticed that the men's room was decrepit—so I threw away my planned opening. Instead, I started, “How many of the men here have used the bathroom tonight?  And how many of you saw the marketing opportunity for contractors in there?” . . . After that, I could say anything I wanted; they paid attention! Shel Horowitz, Author Guerrilla Marketing Goes Green: Winning Strategies to Improve Your Profits and Your Planet


The Close


I was on stage finishing up a keynote at an awards dinner. I was concluding my session and noticed for the first time that I'd neglected to pull up the fly on my pants. What was worse, the audience noticed me noticing it.


I quickly put on a face of comic surprise, and everyone roared. Then, as the laughter died down, I leaned against the podium, nodded knowingly, and said: “Remember the sales strategies we're discussed this evening. Remember all the tips and tactics. But above all, remember that none of them mean a thing . . . unless you remember to close.”  I got a standing ovation. Throughout the evening, there was a conversation among individuals about whether or not I had orchestrated the entire event. Barry Maher, Author Filling the Glass


Bottom Line:  Memorable Stories Penetrate Hearts and Change Lives!

15 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page